PRCA 3330: TOW #2

Blogging… “I’m loving it”

Better late than never for my Week Two TOW.  After browsing the Grammar Girl blog, one entry really caught my eye and sparked some interest.  McDonald’s famous and catchy slogan, “I’m loving it”, raises some serious question about whether or not the slogan is incorrect grammar or cutting edge in the grammar world.  Is it possible to use verbs like “to love” in a progressive progessive tense?

Thanks to the McDonald’s slogan, Justin Timberlake’s song lyrics, and Paris Hilton’s “loves it”, it seems that the use of supposed incorrect grammar is becoming more and more popular.

  1. What did you learn?  I learned that when it comes to verbs, you have to be very careful choosing the correct tense.  The “I’m loving it” slogan would have never struck me as being incorrect.  I think it is because we live in a worlde where we hear incorrect grammar constantly. If I didn’t grow up learning the English language, I don’t think I could ever learn it.  There is so many complicated rules!
  2. What surprised you?  The thing about the blog post that surprised me is the fact that “I’m loving it” could be considered incorrect.  I am so used to hearing it in the media that it just seems accurate.
  3. What do you want to know more about?  I am interested to find out what other popular terms are considered incorrect.  I think that a lot of companies use incorrect slogans because they draw attention to what they are trying to promote.  When something sounds strange, it is more likely that audiences will remember.
Leave a comment

Filed under Topic of the Week: PRCA 3330

Leave a Reply

