Back to Blogging

After taking a long break from blogging this summer, I have decided to start back up again. I want to use my blog as a means to document my job-hunting experience as December graduation is approaching. Also, writing in my blog has always helped me improve my writing skills. Now that I no longer have 20 page communication arts research papers to write I think I might get slightly bored.

I’m finally in my last batch of PR classes. These classes include:

  • PR Campaign Strategies
  • PR Practicum
  • PR Firms
  • and lastly, PR Publications

In addition to taking classes, I am currently interning at the Statesboro Convention and Visitor’s Bureau where I have been spending a lot of my time promoting and attending the town’s farmer’s market(Mainstreet Farmer’s Market, if you’re in the area you should go!), using Adobe InDesign to create brochures and fliers and meeting community members. My main project for the semester is to design and create a box of recipe cards using ingredients that can be bought at the farmer’s market. I have already made a “Tour Planner Guide” for Statesboro and am working on a guide to Pick-Your-Own farms in Southeast Georgia on the side.

In addition to THAT, I am also volunteering at WVGS 91.9 The Buzz radio station on the Georgia Southern campus as their Public Relations Manager. I normally spend my time updating their social media channels and most recently I was given the opportunity to do a voice-over for the introduction to one of the radio shows.

I’m really hoping this semester gives me as much experience in the PR field as possible so I can be completely ready to have a job upon graduation. I am definitely sticking to applying for jobs in a major U.S. city. It has always been my dream to live somewhere big.  If I were to rate where I want to work on a scale 1-5 it would be as follows:

  1. NYC
  2. Boston
  3. Chicago
  4. Seattle
  5. Atlanta

I have decided to use Adobe InDesign to make a more creative resume(don’t get scared… not too artsy!). I just want to stand out from other applicants and make a name for myself and hopefully I can find an employer who will appreciate the individual spin my resume will have!

Well that is it for now!

1 Comment

Filed under Job Hunting

One response to “Back to Blogging

  1. Pingback: Social Media Resume | carriebabramsonresume

Leave a Reply

