He said, She said

As graduation has finally arrived for me, I have had a lot of time to reflect on my college experience.  Looking back, I realize how much time I spent socializing with my friends… Actually, just about anybody who would listen to me talk. A result of all this socializing comes the one word everyone says they hate but somehow partakes in it: gossip. Why do we do it? Where would we be without it? Why is it so intriguing?

I’m not saying everyone gossips as much as a group of college-aged girls do, but I am saying that at one point or another everyone has gossiped. My theory is that individuals participate in gossip to form bonds and relationships with other people. I can remember plenty of times chiming into a conversation about another person in order to establish myself among the group. To use my knowledge about another person to my advantage. To climb the ladder of social hierarchy. The one thing is that when this situation would occur I would not knowingly think to myself, “You want a relationship with these people, talk about someone else so they respect you”. It was instinct. It was a natural.

I’m not proud of gossiping in the past and it’s not something I make a habit of doing, but I can recognize why it happens. It’s human to do everything in our power to be accepted by others and gossip is one method in achieving those relationships. We will even purchase gossip magazines to fulfill our needs and watch so-called reality shows that are all centered around people gathering and talking about other people.

I watch Gossip Girl every Monday night. For those who haven’t been studying communication for the past 4 years, the show can easily influence girls to participate in gossip, but it also shows the ugly consequences. Many people would say that this show glamorizes gossiping, but I beg to differ. Every time one of the characters sends a Gossip Girl “blast” about someone to get ahead, the reverse happens.  Throughout the episode where the following clip comes from the different characters have each sent GG blasts resulting in… Well, a pretty interesting graduation ceremony…

Obviously, the mysterious “Gossip Girl” is at the top of the hierarchy and through sending GG blasts the characters attempt in overthrowing the hold she has over each of them. This only causes them to gossip and send “blasts” more and more, putting them on a path of only destruction.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “He said, She said

  1. JM

    You love social media

  2. I sure do. It’s part of my job as a PR professional!

Leave a Reply

